Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Phase-2 Budget Model Task Force

Phase-2 Budget Model Task force

In December 2021, the Chancellor established a Phase 2 Budget Model Redesign Taskforce comprised of faculty, deans, fiscal officers and administrators from across the university. It is co-chaired by Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Karen Colley and Associate Vice Chancellor for Budget and Financial Analysis, Michael Moss. The Phase 2 Taskforce began meeting in March 2022 and is building on the work of Phase 1 by conducting a detailed analysis of each the following budget model aspects:

  • Tuition revenue allocation and distribution
  • Bad debt, waiver and institutionally funded financial aid
  • Indirect cost recovery (ICR) revenue allocation and distribution
  • Administrative allowance revenue allocation and distribution
  • Moving the UIC School of Law into the model
  • Administrative costs and shared services opportunities
  • Related issues that arise throughout the evaluation and analysis work


  • Karen Colley, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Co-Chair
  • Michael Moss, Associate Vice Chancellor, Budget and Financial Analysis, Co-Chair
  • Richard Alpern, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, ex-officio
  • TJ Augustine, Vice Chancellor for Innovation
  • Rhea Ballard-Thrower, Dean, University Libraries
  • Mary Ellen Borchers, Budget Redesign Project Director
  • Kathryn Chval, Dean, College of Education
  • Eileen Collins, Dean, College of Nursing
  • Larry Danziger, Professor, College of Pharmacy
  • Stephanie Estrada, Senior Associate Director, Institutional Research, ex officio
  • Lisa Freeman, Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Sandra De Groote, Chair, Budget Planning and Priorities Committee, UIC Senate; Professor & Head, Assessment & Scholarly Communications, University Library
  • Wayne Giles, Dean, School of Public Health
  • Michael Ginsburg, interim Vice Chancellor for Budget, Human Resources and Financial Administration
  • Joanna Groden, Vice Chancellor for Research
  • Colleen Kehoe, Associate Director, Budget and Financial Analysis, ex officio
  • Jeff Kulik, Associate Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services
  • Margaret Moser, Executive Director, VCHA Administration and Operations
  • Peter Nelson, Dean, College of Engineering
  • Alanna O'Connor, Chief of Staff, Office of the Provost, ex officio
  • Jim Pierce, Associate Dean, College of Business Administration
  • Robin Reames, Associate Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Mark Rosenblatt, Dean, College of Medicine
  • Rebecca Rugg, Dean, College of Architecture, Design and the Arts
  • Dale Rush, Associate Dean, College of Pharmacy
  • Michael Scott, UIC United Faculty Representative; Associate Professor, College of Engineering & Innovation Education Director
  • Thomas Warfield, Director of Institutional Research, ex officio
  • Stacey Swearingen White, Dean, College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs